LifeWithGoblins Blog

Common Sense Parenting

A Cure For Diaper Rash February 21, 2011

Filed under: Medicine Cabinet — lifewithgoblins @ 2:42 pm
Tags: , , , ,

Goat Milk's yoghurt

Image via Wikipedia

If you have thought some of my posts were odd, you’ll really think I am goofy now. Baby Hanne is getting over her cold (YAY!) but she has developed a painful diaper rash.  It appears to be a yeast diaper rash, as it wasn’t going away with creams or air-drying alone.  Sigh…..

Please, not another visit to the doctor’s office. Please.  Worse, dragging a grumpy two year old along, who is in the “difficult” stage through the parking lot, into the office, in the waiting room, then the exam room.  Please, no.  I could take her in when my husband gets home, but even still, it makes a long evening.

Don’t get me wrong, I would happily take her if needed.

Out of curiosity I did some research on home-remedies yesterday for yeast diaper rashes.  Many people stated that they use yoghurt with live (active) cultures.  Hmmmm.  It was Sunday, and I couldn’t take her to the doctor that day anyway.  I’ll try it.

This morning, well, her rash is 25% better, and that’s saying something.  25% of her raw skin was healing.  No longer bright red, raw skin!  WOW!

It is now afternoon, and I am diligently keeping her diaper off, rinsing her bottom when she poops, and have applied yoghurt twice today.  We’re up to about 40% better! Awesome!

If this keeps up, we might avoid a trip to the doc. That’s always a good thing (there are a lot of germs in the doctor’s office, remember).  Yuck.

Oh, and I ordered some Triple Paste to avoid it coming back once it’s healed.  Anyone have any experience with it?

 

5 Responses to “A Cure For Diaper Rash”

  1. kloppenmum Says:

    So good that you found something that worked for Hanne. Not heard of Triple Paste, but heard that natural yoghurt is also very good for thrush. Never been game enough to try it myself…but at least it would be cool. 😉

  2. Yes! It’s working, I think I waited too long to try it. I might take her in anyway if it’s not at good 70% better tomorrow morning……only because it appears to be agonizing for her. Poor thing.
    Btw I am so sad to hear the news of the quake. 😦 horrible. My heart goes out to everyone in Christchurch.

  3. kloppenmum Says:

    Yes, only just heard myself. Must go and check it out now. Napier is bang smack in the middle of quake zone, so it’s always a bit…there but the grace of God go we, when they happen.

  4. kloppenmum Says:

    Just posted a link to a running report on the quake. Horrible.

  5. […] A Cure For Diaper Rash (lifewithgoblins.wordpress.com) […]


Leave a comment