LifeWithGoblins Blog

Common Sense Parenting

2010 VW ROUTAN January 6, 2011


A Volkswagen Routan minivan at the 2008 SIAM.

Image via Wikipedia

 

        

2010 Volkswagon Routan

 

 

        

 

        

The year before we decided to have another child, we discussed if we would need a larger vehicle if we had another kid. We browsed online to see what was out there, and to my dismay there was mainly minivans that would provide us with the cargo space, and passenger capacity without getting a gigantic Yukon type vehicle that would get 9 miles a gallon.

We were pretty disappointed in the environmentally friendly options….or simply lack of. I was devastated—-yes devastated at the thought of becoming a minivan owner. I swore I would never go that route. Yuck. A minivan. Who in their right mind…..? I couldn’t give in. Or would I have to?

We needed a vehicle that could hold 4 people regularly, and 5-6 often enough….and comfortably. We needed cargo space for Costco runs, strollers, diaper bags, school stuff, trips, and dogs. Wasn’t there ANYTHING but minivans?

Yes, there were the so-called “crossover” SUV type vehicles, but they fit generally four people comfortably. If you try to squeeze more people in it will be jammed, and little room for “stuff.” If we ever needed to fit a third car seat in it, forget it. We wanted to make a purchase that would last us a long time. It would mainly be mommy’s car so I wanted something that would suit our needs over the long-term, not just for the moment. I scoured every website of every auto manufacture available in the U.S. I kept coming back to the minivan. Wretched.

I grew up with Volkswagon vans. My parents had two throughout my childhood. One was from the early 70’s and the second they bought in the early eighties, a Vanagon Wolfsburg Edition. They were wonderful. Great memories were created in them. So I wandered onto the VW website with hopes high of obtaining a new van similar to the ones we are all familiar with. If I was going to have to drive a van, mini or otherwise, it was going to be a VW.

Profound disappointment found me when I discovered they only had the Routan available currently. Ick. It looked just like any other minivan. Then I found out it was the body of the Chrysler Town and Country van with VW parts. Ick.

We read reviews, and mainly the only complaint was by reviewers who were irritated by the borrowed body of they Chrysler. They tried to come up with “issues” like one stated that when you drove it you could hear rubbing plastic noises throughout the vehicle due to cheap plastic interior components. Hmmmm. Another speculated that other years had a variety of small mechanical problems. Hmmmm.

Still, I was not discouraged. We were now pregnant, and had to make a decision. We sold our beloved Honda Element (fantastic car!!!). One sunny summer day we went to the city and test drove the Routan SE. Yes, it looks just like any other Routan. Nothing to write home about for sure. It drove great! Very smooth, quiet. No “rubbing plastic.” Double screen DVD player, which you can actually show a movie on each screen for the middle and back rows. Headphones, remotes. Heated seats. Remote doors (including trunk). Great sound system. Touch screen controls for the sound system/DVD with option to upload pictures and music onto a small hard drive. Front wheel drive with some anti-skid thing. I’m not tech savvy, so I cannot name all the bells and whistles, but there are a lot. There are buttons I still don’t know their purpose.

The only complaint I have is that when you are parked on a steep hill, the side doors don’t like to be opened electronically, they will open then shut again, so you have to open them manually. It’s just an irritation. Oh, and it IS a little difficult to fit into the back row. It is roomy, but getting back there is a bit of a squeeze. You won’t be sending your 80 year old grandmother back there.

Mechanically so far so good. We only have 6000 miles on it, but there is never a problem. I would definitely recommend this vehicle. Plus, its cheaper than the Honda Odyssey and the Toyota Sienna, but much nicer than the super cheap minivans. I think it’s waaaaaay better than the Sienna, and the Odyssey just seems like an overpriced Routan.

So I carry on the family tradition. It’s not a minivan, it’s a VW van.

 

One Response to “2010 VW ROUTAN”

  1. So many good times were had on the way to Cannon Beach in those VW’s…..enjoy yours as you carry on the family tradition!

    Many Blessings,
    M.


Leave a comment